Vishakapatnam: AP headquarters Railway Name Changed


AP headquarters Railway Name Changed

Railroad Minister Piyush Goyal on Wednesday declared another rail line division for Andhra Pradesh named South Coast Railway with its headquarters at Vishakapatnam.

Tending to a question and answer session here, Goyal stated: “according to thing 8 of calendar 13 (Infrastructure) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, Indian Railways was required to look at setting up another railroad zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh.

“The issue was inspected in detail in counsel with stake holders and it has been chosen to proceed with production of new zone with headquarter at Visakhapatnam.”

Goyal said the new zone has been named as South Coast Railway (SCoR) and it will contain existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijaywada divisions.

The minister said that Waltair division will be part into two sections – one section to be joined in the new zone by converging with the neighboring Vijaywada division, while the rest of the segment will be changed over into another division with headquarter at Raygada under East Coast Railway (ECoR).

The minister said that South Central Railway will contain Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions.

scroll to top